Blossom Stories : Enjoy every minute of life

December 25, 2006

Things people Want To Know About Me

Filed under: FAQ — blossom2219 @ 9:40 pm

FAQ

 

Q: How did you get into book translation?

A: Short answer or long answer?

 

Q: Short first.

A: The publishing company kindly approached me in February 2006

 

Q: How about long answer?

A: I have always wanted to have a book of my own. With my name as the author, not translator. And I wrote a lot so I decided to send one of my long stories to a couple of publishing companies. One of them got back to me and asked if I want to translate a suspense-thriller novel. That’s pretty much it.

 

Q: How long did it take you to translate ‘Garnethill’?

A : 2.5 months

 

Q: Did you find it difficult?

A: It was really challenging and not easy but with strong determination and good time management, I am sure everyone can do it too.

 

Q: How did you feel to see your first translation book?

A: I was so excited, so proud. It was a great feeling and adds a lot to my self-esteem that I actually did it.

 

Q : What’s your next translation project?

A : I have actually finished translating the second novel titled "I’d tell you I love you but then I’d have to kill you" It’s a lovely teen novel featuring an all-girl spy school, which I had a wonderful time translating the story. It’s now in the market.

 

Q : Do you usually pick the novel yourself?

A : No. The publishing agency picked it and approached if I’d be intersted in translating it into Thai.

 

Q:  What does it take to be a good translator?

A : Personally, I think a translator should be knowledgeable in whatever they are translating, and if they are not, they should really study on that subject to ensure accurate translation which reads naturally in the target language.

 

Q : Are you a good translator?

A : I love translation and I am just trying my best to be a good one.

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

